DRIVER SAFETY COURSE AND DEFFERED DISPOSITION
Driver Safety Course
Under the laws of the State
of Texas, you may request that one charge against you be dismissed by
taking a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course.
HOWEVER, YOU WILL LOSE THIS OPTION IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST IT IN PERSON OR
IN WRITING BY YOUR APPEARANCE DATE AS SHOWN ON YOUR CITATION. THE COURT
DOES NOT ACCEPT A TELPHONE CALL AS AN APPEARANCE BEFORE COURT. This
option is available if you hold a valid Texas Driver’s License or
permit (except a commercial driver’s license) and show proof of
financial responsibility. Additionally, if you are charged with speeding
25MPH or more above the posted limit, have used this option within the
last 12 month period to dismiss a charge, or are charged for a violation
occurring in a work zone with workers present, you are not eligible. If
you wish to use this option to have this citation dismissed, complete the
request form and return it to the Court with the required fee and proof
of insurance on or before your appearance date. You have 90 days from
date of request to provide the Court with required documentation showing
successful completion of an approved Driving Safety Course.
There is $144.00 court cost
fee that is paid to the Municipal Court when a driver safety class is
requested. Defendants are required to find their own class, and are
required to attend a driving safety course approved by the Department of
Public Safety or the Texas Education Agency (class must be state
certified). The Municipal Court does not offer drivers safety classes.
You are required to take the course within 90 days from the date of the
request. If you do not, the court will send you a notice requiring you to
return to court and explain why you failed to show proof of completion.
Your failure to be present at that hearing may result in a warrant for
your arrest being issued.
You may download a Request for Drivers Safety Course Form
plea guilty or no contest you may request
deferred disposition. Conditions to be eligible for deferred disposition
are as follows:
- Traffic Only Offenses
- Non-Accident Offenses
- You cannot hold a Commercial Driver's
- You cannot currently be on probation or
Contact the Municipal Court
to find out if you qualify and to confirm the amount you owe.
Back to Municipal Court